MAKE PLANS FOR ART CENTER DEDICATION: MRS. F. D. R. IS SLATED TO BE ...

The Chicago Defender (National edition) (1921-1967); Apr 12, 1941;

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender

pg. 5

MAKE PLANS FOR ART CENTER DEDICATION

MRS. F. D. R. IS SLATED TO BE CHIEF SPEAKER

Address Will Open Local South Side Community Art, Craft Center

Announcement was made early this week that final plans for the dedication of the South Side Community Art Center, on May 7 with Mrs. Franklin D. Roosevelt as principal speaker, have been approved.

A broadcast over a nation-wide hook-up probably through Columbia Broadcasting System, will be a feature of the services conducted at the Art Center.

Tentative plans for the dedication ceremony include a nation-wide hook-up. Prof. Alain Locke of Howard university will present Mrs. Roosevelt. Statements from other important personages from all over the country testifying to national cultural value of the art center, have been programmed.

A dinner at the Parkway ballroom in honor of Mrs. Roosevelt is scheduled immediately after the radio program. In Mrs. Roosevelt's last letter she states that she will devote the hours of 4 to 6 pm. for the dedication activities.

The committee planning the dedication ceremonies states that because of limited facilities at the Art Center, admission to the broadcast there will be by membership card only.

They urge all persons desiring to meet and hear Mrs. Roosevelt, secure their membership cards from the Art Center, 3831 S. Michigan avenue, or from any member of the planning committee.

avenue, or from any member of the planning committee.

The large committee organizing the dedication program represents all sections of the community. It is headed by Mrs. Earl B. Dickerson, Mrs. Patrick B. Prescott and Mrs. Louis B. Anderson.

Other members are Mesdames

Other members are Mesdames na Abernathy, Oneida Anderson, Hazel R. Anthony, Claude Barnett, R. A. Cole, Freda Cross, Margaret Cunningham, Sweetie Doyle, Beatrice Glenn, Helen Glover, Margaret Goss, Emma Grant, Walter Grant, George C. Hall, Carl Hansberry, Elise Harris, Lovie Haynes, Ione Hughes, Katherine Irvin, A. L. Jackson, Chas. Jackson, Hattie Jackson, Lydia Jones, Nora Logan, Lula Lucas, Pauline J. Lawrence, Mattie Mercer, Robert Miller, Ora G. Morrow, Blanche Morris, Clara Mosby, Gonzales Motts, Roosevelt Phillips, Ester Scott, Florence Scull, Howard Shaw, Grage Shepherd, Franke R. Singleton, Ellis Stewart, Edward Sneed, Lillian Summers, Rene B. Tancil, Lida Tavernier, J. Ferguson, Adele Thornton, Zenia Trapp, Arlene Washington, Louise Woodley, Marian Downer, Dorothy Brown, Misses Jessica Anderson, Callie Broxton. Jessica Crossley, Olive Diggs, Elizabeth Galbreath, Ethel Hilliard, Katherine King, Billie Maxwell, Emma Shaw, Naomi Tabron, Jeanette Triplette, Hannah White and Mr. Walter Abernathy.

Reproduced with permission of the copyright owner. Further reproduction prohibited without permission.